There are several reasons you may want to uninstall the McAfee Online Backup backup software. Uninstalling the McAfee Online Backup backup software does not close your McAfee Online Backup account.
If you intend to reinstall the McAfee Online Backup backup software and if you have used a non-default encryption type, changed default settings, or have a complex set of rules for automatically selecting files, you should make note of these before you uninstall. This will make it easier to personalize your settings when you reinstall. If you are using Windows, you have the option when you uninstall to save your settings. Saving your settings only eliminates the need to reselect files, reselect backup sets, and recreate custom backup sets; you will still need to make any needed changes to other settings. When you reinstall on the same computer where you saved your settings, you are automatically asked whether you want to import your saved settings.