The Local Backup version history shares drive space with the local backup itself. By default this limits its size according to both the size of the drive and the space used by Local Backup. You can set the maximum size for Local Backup version history to prevent it from growing too large. If you do not want to use Local Backup version history, set the maximum size to zero. You can also set the maximum size of files to save in version history, which prevents it from being filled too quickly with large files.
Version history can store up to five previous versions of a file, space permitting. When the version history folder is full, because either the drive is full or the size limit you set for the folder has been reached, the oldest versions of files are deleted to make room for new files. Version history for local backup is not an archive. Do not assume that Local Backup version history is any more than a convenient temporary location from which to retrieve a file you accidentally deleted or changed.
If you need to recover a file from version history, use Windows Explorer to access the version history folder. The files in the folder are organized in the same way as they are on your computer's hard drive. The folder is located at McAfee Online BackupLocalBackup\<computer_name>-history on the drive you selected for Local Backup, where <computer_name> is your computer name. Filenames in the version history folder use the original filenames with an epochtime timestamp appended. If you are interested, you can search the Web for sites to help you convert the timestamp to a date and time meaningful to you, but basically, the larger the number, the more recent the file. You can copy any files in the version history folder to any other folder you want in the same way you would copy any other file in Windows. After copying the file, you can rename the file, if wanted, and open the file as usual with the application that created it.