The McAfee Online Backup backup software ensures that exact copies of
your current file selections are in the McAfee cloud, including
updates when you delete, move, or rename a file.
Files are considered deleted if:
- You intentionally delete or
deselect a file from backing up.
- A drive on your computer is
malfunctioning, causing some or all files to appear to be missing and therefore
deleted. During your grace period you can resolve the issue with the drive,
possibly by restoring your files to a replacement drive.
- You install the
McAfee Online Backup backup software on a new computer using the "replace
computer" process, and the first backup completes before files from an old
computer are restored or moved to the new computer.
When you rename a file on your computer, the backup software deletes the
file with the old name and creates a new copy of the file with the new name.
The old file remains in the cloud according to the grace period for your
account.
When you move a file from one folder to another on your computer, the
backup software treats it the same as renaming a file.