The McAfee Online Backup backup software lets you select any file to back
up. There are no restrictions based on file type or size. You can change which
files are selected during installation, before the first backup starts.
If the selected files exceed your storage space, the backup software
automatically favors quantity over size. For example, if one large file is
selected as well as thousands of small document files, the smaller document
files are prioritized.
- New files may be
automatically selected for backup if they are saved into a folder that is being
backed up. McAfee Online Backup recommends you periodically verify you are
backing up your most important files.
- If you delete a file on your
computer, it no longer counts against your use of storage space. Deleted files
are permanently removed from the McAfee cloud after a grace period.
- As you change files, each
backup sends the differences to the cloud. This means that you can recover
older versions of files during the same grace period for deleted files. This is
useful for reverting to a previous draft of a document.
Routine backups compare file selections on your computer to the
cloud, adding new files or data about changed files as necessary and
identifying files to delete after the grace period expires.