Back Up to a Local Drive on Windows

Prerequisite:Local Backup is available only in the McAfee Online Backup backup software for Windows.
Note: You cannot use Local Backup for files that are locally EFS encrypted. If you are backing up EFS-encrypted files online with McAfee Online Backup, before your first local backup you must either deselect them, or you must disable support for backing up EFS-encrypted files on the Advanced tab of the Settings window.

If you cannot change this setting and you use Windows, you may be able to resolve this issue yourself. For more information, see If Settings Are Greyed Out in the McAfee Online Backup Backup Software for Windows. You may not be able to change this setting if your account administrator is managing it for you.

  1. If the drive you intend to use for local backup is removable, such as a USB drive or an external hard drive, ensure it is connected.
  2. Open the Settings window. Choose one of the following actions:
  3. Click the Options tab, then click Local Backup.
  4. In the Drive field, select the drive where you want your local backup files stored.
    Note: While it is possible to select a drive that you are backing up files from, we caution against doing this because if your drive fails, you lose both your files and your local backup.
  5. (Optional) To enable version history for local backup, set the following options.
    Maximum file size Specify the maximum size file that can be added to the version history. Use this to save space by excluding large files from the version history.
    Maximum size of history folder Specify the maximum size of the version history folder. If this is set to 0, no history is saved.

    This size for the history folder cannot be set to be larger than the drive storing the history and the local backup with which the history shares space.

    The history folder is located at McAfee Online BackupLocalBackup\<computer_name>-history on the drive you selected for Local Backup, where <computer_name> is your computer name.
  6. (Optional) To empty the local backup version history folder, click Empty History. The version history for local backups is deleted. The most recent local backup itself remains.
  7. Click OK. Your changes are saved and the Settings window closes.
Related concepts
Local Backup Version History on Windows
Choosing Files to Back Up